AIH Award Winners

The American Institute of Hydrology (AIH) recognizes the following individuals for their outstanding accomplishments in the fields of groundwater, surface water, and water quality:

  • Vicki Kretsinger Grabert, PH (Luhdorff & Scalmanini Consulting Engineers) – Charles V. Theis Award for Contributions to Groundwater
  • Dr. Phil Bedient (Rice University) – Ray K. Linsley Award for Contributions to Surface Water
  • Dr. Ying Ouyang, PH (U.S. Forest Service) – Robert G. Wetzel Award for Water Quality

These awards are named after prominent scientists and engineers, who have made numerous lasting contributions to the hydrologic sciences. Join us in congratulating Vicki Kretsinger Grabert, PH, Dr. Phil Bedient, and Dr. Ying Ouyang, PH!

Charles V. Theis Award for Contributions to Groundwater - Vicki Kretsinger Grabert, PH

Vicki has more than 30 years of experience in regional groundwater resource management and groundwater quality assessments. Additionally, she has played key leadership roles in promoting technical collaboration, education, and training of groundwater hydrologists, and in development and implementation of legislation and key polices, regulations, and management strategies for sustainable groundwater resources management. Her technical contributions and achievements during her career supported improved groundwater resources management across California for agriculture, industrial, and municipal beneficial uses.

Ray K. Linsley Award for Contributions to Surface Water - Dr. Phil Bedient

Dr. Bedient has been a long-time leading applied researcher in watershed flooding, storm-surge impacts, flood early warning systems, and surface water quality. He formed the Severe Storm Prediction Center (SSPEED) at Rice University in 2009 consisting of a team of seven universities and 15 investigators from Gulf coast universities dedicated to improving storm prediction, education, and evacuation from disaster. He has also spent the majority of his career at Rice University where has become one of the most notable national figures in surface water hydrology, especially as it relates to flooding and stormwater runoff.

Robert G. Wetzel Award for Water Quality - Dr. Ying Ouyang, PH

Dr. Ouyang has made transformative contributions to hydrology, soil physics, and water resources. He is a world-renowned hydrologist in developing STELLA models. Additionally, he served as associate editor for the Journal of Environmental Quality of Soil Science Society of America for 15 years.

AIH 2021 Winter Bulletin – Call for Contributions

The next issue of the AIH Bulletin is scheduled to be published in the fall of 2020, for which the editorial team invites contributions from members.

Original articles on any aspect of hydrology (e.g., administrative, technical, socioeconomic) will be considered for publication. It is not required that the article be based on academic or scientific work; however, it should not be published elsewhere. Book reviews may also be submitted under this category.

Please provide an un-formatted word document of your story without embedded images. You can signify where you’d like a submitted image using brackets.

Images you wish to be included with your article must not be embedded in the Word document; send them separately and labeled with names corresponding to where you’d like them used in the Word document.

Articles must have a brief title and a byline.

Supply a high-resolution head-shot of the author.

Article length must be between 500 – 1000 words.

Please include an “About the Author” post script, to provide our audience with the context of your perspectives. Include how you would like your name and title to be presented.

Avoid using too many bulleted lists, diagrams or graphs in your article.

Beside original articles, members may also submit leads to items of interest to the hydrologists’ community. Such items may include news related to the field of hydrology, conferences, new publications, etc.

If you are interested in contributing, please send articles or other items of interest to by the end of August 2020. In the subject of the email, please use “AIH Bulletin Contributions”.