2021 Pi Day!

AIH’s Executive Committee kicked off its Annual Meeting during Pi Day! A key outcome of the day was the establishment of an AIH Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion committee that will be composed of EC members and AIH members. Breakout groups will convene over next week to address key initiative areas related to member engagement, collaboration with other organizations, collaboration with universities, and public relations and media strategies. Strategies and tactics for addressing the initiatives will be the focus when the Executive Committee reconvenes for the Annual Meeting Day 2 on March 21, 2021.

Our Focus in 2021

The American Institute of Hydrology is dedicated to enhancing and strengthening the standing of hydrology as a science and a profession. In 2021 our focus will be to dive even deeper into membership engagement, legislation and advocacy, diversity, equity and inclusion, our public relations and media strategies as well as our collaboration and partnerships with other organizations.

President of the AIH Speaks at GRA Future of Water Conference

Jamil S. Ibrahim, President of the AIH, gave a presentation on the benefits of certification as Professional Hydrologist (PH) or Hydrologic Technician (HT) at last week’s GRA Future of Water Conference. The presentation consisted of 19 participants and concluded with an informative Q&A.

Call for Awards

The American Institute of Hydrology (AIH) recognizes its members for outstanding accomplishments in the fields of groundwater, surface water, water quality, and institute development. These awards are named after prominent scientists and engineers, who have made numerous lasting contributions to the hydrologic sciences. AIH Awards include:

  • Charles V. Theis Award for Groundwater
  • Ray K. Linsley Award for Surface Water
  • Robert G. Wetzel Award for Water Quality
  • Founders Award for Institute Development

The nomination packet for each award should contain the following:

  1. A formal nomination letter by the nominator, outlining the education, career, and a record of performance detailing accomplishments and noteworthy impact achieved by the potential candidate.
  2. A current resume of the nominee.
  3. A minimum of two and maximum of four supporting letters with a limit of three pages each.

The supporting letter writers should state briefly how they know the nominee and describe why the nominee is deserving of the award. Please submit your nomination to admin@aihydrology.org by Tuesday, March 16, 2021. Award winners will be notified and the awards will be presented at an upcoming conference to be determined later in the year.

The Charles Vernon (C.V.) Theis Award was established in 1986, to recognize individuals who have made outstanding contributions in groundwater hydrology. Charles V. Theis graduated with a PhD from the University of Cincinnati in June 1929 and made numerous contributions to the field of groundwater science throughout his life.

The Ray K. Linsley Award was established in 1986, to recognize individuals who have made outstanding contributions in surface water hydrology. Dr. Linsley made numerous contributions to surface water hydrology and was the principal author of the textbook Applied Hydrology, published by McGraw-Hill in 1949. He directed the PhD dissertations of 35 students at Stanford University covering research on mechanics of overland flow, rainfall synthesis, stochastic hydrology, and modeling of the hydrologic cycle. These efforts led to the development of the Stanford Watershed Model, a state-of-the-art tool of hydrologists worldwide.

The Robert G. Wetzel Award recognizes individuals who have made outstanding contributions in the field of water quality. This award was dedicated in 2006, to the family of the late Robert G. Wetzel. Dr. Wetzel was a true leader in the field of freshwater science. His thoughts and brilliant synthesis of all aspects of lakes and streams are included in more than 30 books and 400+ publications including the definitive college textbook of this field, Limnology.

The AIH Founders Award was established in 1990, to recognize individuals who have provided outstanding, long and dedicated service to the Institute. It was established to honor the AIH founders Sandor Csallany, Alex Zaporozec, and Roman Kanivetsky. The award is given at the discretion of the AIH Executive Board to a member in good standing.

Spotlight on Recent AIH Election

Congratulations to Salam Murtada on his election to the Vice President of Institute Development position! His professional biography below provides some background on your newly elected AIH leader.

VP of Institute Development
Salam Murtada is a Professional Hydrologist, Professional Engineer and Certified Floodplain Manager with over 20 years of experience in the areas of natural system restoration, H&H modeling, groundwater protection and wastewater treatment and disposal. He has served as AIH’s Treasurer since January of 2020. Salam is currently a Floodplain Hydrologist with the State of Minnesota Department of Natural Resources, Division of Ecological and Water Resources. He utilizes hydrologic models to assess land use changes and floodplain evaluation, as well as performing floodplain ordinance reviews. Salam received his B.S. from the University of Texas at Austin and his M.S. from West Virginia University, all in the field of engineering. He is excited to assist with expanding the membership base and promoting AIH through other technical organizations and affiliations.

AIH 2020 Award Recipients

AIH honored 3 awardees for their professional achievements and contributions to the field of hydrology at last week’s AWRA Virtual Conference.

AIH 2020 Award Recipients