New Director of Academic Affairs & Director of Communications Join the AIH Board

AIH is happy to announce the Board of Directors is now complete with the election of our last two open director seats for Academic Affairs and Communications.

Director of Academic Affairs – John J. Ramirez-Avila
Dr. John J. Ramirez-Avila is the new Director of Academic Affairs. He is an Agricultural Engineer (Universidad Nacional de Colombia) holding a Master’s degree in Soils (University of Puerto Rico) and a PhD in Engineering with an emphasis in Water Resources (Mississippi State University). John is an Associate Professor at the Watersheds and Water Quality Research Lab, School of Civil and Environmental Engineering at Mississippi State University.

Director of Communications – Jonathan Quebbeman
Dr. Jonathan Quebbeman is the new Director of Communications. He is a hydrologist and water resources engineer with more than 24-years of experience. He is currently the Director of Water Resources, South Asia, in addition to leading the Hydrologic Risk program with RTI International, a non-profit research institute. 

Meet the 2024 AIH Awardees

Each year, AIH recognizes individuals for outstanding accomplishments in the fields of groundwater, surface water, water quality, and institute development. These awards are named after prominent hydrologists, who have made numerous lasting contributions to the hydrologic sciences. Watch our LinkedIn video and send congratulations to the attendees!

Ray K. Linsley Award for Surface Water – Deborah H. Lee, SES, PH, PE, BC.WRE, F.ASCE, ENV SP

Ms. Deborah H. Lee serves as the Director of the NOAA Great Lakes Environmental Research Laboratory where she advances state-of-the-science prediction capabilities. The practical tools her teams developed forecast the movement of harmful algal blooms in Lake Erie to allow for advance management and health protection. Her peer nominations cited her exceptional leadership, creativity, and commitment to diversity, equity and inclusion for women in STEM

Charles Vernon (C.V) Theis Award for Groundwater – Dr. Rao Govindaraju

Dr. Rao Govindaraju is the Bowen Engineering Head and Burke Professor at Lyles School of Civil Engineer at Purdue University. Dr. Govindaraju heads up the Bowen Engineering Department in the Lyles School of Civil Engineering at Purdue University. Editor-in-chief of the ASCE Journal of Hydrologic Engineering and a prolific author, he has made substantial contributions to the areas of water well design, basin-wide management, infiltration investigative methods, assessment of climate change, and artificial neural networks for groundwater applications. 

New Treasurer and Director of International Affairs Join the AIH Board

Treasurer – Dr. James J. Connors
James brings over 39 years of hydrology and geology, university administration, research, and expert witness experience to his position on the Board. As a successful business owner, he has first-hand experience with budgeting and accounting, and in his first month in office he has already coordinated a budget approval meeting!

We also thank Chance Fulk for his service as Treasurer, and for being part of the team that first established the DEI Scholarship Fund.

Director of International Affairs – John R. Gray

John is a U.S. Geological Survey (USGS) Scientist Emeritus and Principal at GraySedimentology LLC. As the USGS National Sedimentologist for nearly 20 years, he was responsible for national and international coordination of fluvial-sediment monitoring and research.

We thank Yige Gao for her valued service as Director of International Affairs! Yige’s engagement of new AIH members and coordination with international hydrology organizations leaves a lasting legacy.

Welcome to the Newest AIH Members!

We’re pleased to welcome the following AIH members who’ve chosen to take the next step in their hydrology career with an AIH certification!


  • Marcoluis Garcia – February 2024
  • Molly Adams – April 2024

Professional Hydrologist – Surface Water
March 2024

  • Erica Betts
  • Daniel Black
  • Katherine Dunn
  • Euan-Angus MacLeod
  • Kenneth Peterson
  • Ryan Troy

New! AIH Offers Continuing Education Center

The AIH Continuing Education Center gives its members, other hydrologists, and students access to live presentations and on demand recordings with content focused on important hydrology topics. Presented by experts, these programs offer timely and valuable insights that keep you up-to-date and qualify for PDH/PDC hours for professional hydrologists.

Each viewing (live or recording) is free for AIH members and qualifies as credits toward maintaining your AIH certification.

Browse the new Continuing Education Center offerings today!